PREMIERE – Thomass Jackson – Mithra (Lumière Noire)

Back in 2018, Lumière Noire celebrated its first anniversary with a compilation featuring thirteen exclusive tracks by an eclectic group of electronic musicians – a family portrait of sorts. A few months later, a second volume of ‘From Above’, compiled by the label‘s artistic director (and DJ) Chloé, once more brings thirteen established acts together with promising upstarts.

The first compilation was the embodiment of the label policy advocating for both artistic excellence and a widening of electronic aesthetics – bopping from deviant house music to adventurous IDM and to the rigor of dancefloor techno, among other electronic explorations. Some of the artists featured are now closely associated with Lumière Noire, while others were more established performers such as Benedikt Frey, Lauer, Jonathan Fitoussi, Il Est Vilaine, Dave e Brun (half of Swayzac) and Frank Agrario, as well as upcoming artists such as C O N T R A (a side project by none other than Iñigo Vontier), Sutja Gutierrez, Théo Muller, Markus Gibb, Bajram Bili, and a sprinkling of UFOs circling the genre (Suuns‘ Ben Shemie, Drvg Cvltvre, and electro-acoustic combo Lumi).

This group photo laid down a number of paths for a label in perpetual evolution and the lineup for this second volume of ‘From Above’ is once again equally intriguing, offering a crescendo-like track listing over a double LP format, which is a feat of sorts for a Various Artists compilation. There are plenty of highlights within, one of our favourites being Calypso Records Thomass Jackson’s ‘ Mithra’ .

Release Date 20/03/20

Grab your copy here